About Ratz Lax

About the Ratz

The Rochester Rattlers of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) were founded in 2001 as one of the League’s original six teams. The franchise won the Steinfeld Cup in 2008, and recently were the regular season champions in 2014. The team competed in the championship final that same year where they fell to the Denver Outlaws. 

For more information visit the team's official website: rochesterrattlers.com

To purchase tickets to an upcoming game click HERE.




Ratz Front Office & Coaching Staff

  • Chief Operating Officer: Brad Ford
  • Ticket Sales Representative: Lee Eyrick
  • Head Coach: Tim Soudan
  • Assistant Coaches: Jacques Monte, Bill Warder 



During the summer of 1998, Jake “Body By Jake” Steinfeld was inspired to start a professional outdoor lacrosse league after reading a magazine article about the growth of the sport of lacrosse. Steinfeld sought out a contributor to the article, Owner and President of Warrior Lacrosse Dave Morrow, a leading lacrosse equipment manufacturer, to discuss formation of such a league.
In February 1999 Steinfeld and Morrow joined forces with Steinfeld’s friend and business associate Tim Robertson, Chairman of Bay Shore Enterprises and former CEO of the Family Channel, to form Major League Lacrosse, LLC, a Virginia limited liability company. In 2003, New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. came on board as a Founding Member of Major League Lacrosse, as well as an Anchor Level League Sponsor.
Major League Lacrosse began play in 2001 to capitalize on the growing demand for world-class field lacrosse driven by dramatic growth in the U.S. lacrosse market. The MLL was praised and heralded for its on-field play, regarded as the best ever seen. With a year-on-year attendance increase, Major League Lacrosse has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports.

Major League Lacrosse is comprised of eight teams across the US and Canada. The Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks (formerly Baltimore and Washington), New York Lizards (formally Long Island) and Rochester Rattlers are original teams starting in 2001. The Denver Outlaws began play in 2006 as part of the League’s western expansion.  The Charlotte Hounds and Ohio Machine began play in 2012 as a part of the League's expansion initiative to have 16 teams in the next decade. Most recently the Florida Launch joined the league in 2014.

For more information on Major League Lacrosse, along with its teams, sponsors and vision, click here.